There’s just something about Jane…

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

Why I love Pride & Prejudice 200 years later… 

She’s timeless…

If we were to reach back into history and pull the Bennet sisters into the 21st century they familial dynamics would be the same. Imagine, Mr Bennet, owner of a English country home trying to pay the mortgage and manage his wife’s anxiety (nerves). Undoubtedly, Mrs Bennet would be in regular therapy over her daughters. Lizzy and Jane would yes still be living at home (have you seen rental prices lately). Kitty and Lydia would be permanently attached to their iPhones facebooking and twittering with every boy in the county and Mary, would naturally be the over achieving geek. She would probably be a bit like me studying Sociology and Literature at university and be a big fan of Jane Austen.

Her theory on mothers and marriage still apply today… 

Bridget Jones, anyone? We all know this modern day version of Pride & Prejudice and I think it is a good example of what I’m saying. Correct me if I’m wrong but, I am sure that every late-twenty-early-thirty-something-single-woman that has a mother is familiar with the unwanted brainstorming of perhaps-an-arranged-marriage; or ‘you know that guy from that place’ well Mrs said he was single why don’t you both meet up. Not to mention my favourite… ‘we have puppies because you refuse to give us grandchildren’ guilt trip.

But mum, “I’m waiting for Mr Darcy…”

This has become my own personal response to the worn out question ‘why are you still single?’ or ‘when are you settling down’.

When I was a little girl I watched Disney. Disney taught me empowerment and how Prince Charming was going to come along and rescue us from our boring mundane lives. Well, as older and somewhat wiser we know Prince Charming or Mr Darcy doesn’t necessarily exist but what’s wrong with a little dreaming. If we have unrealistic expectations than perhaps allowing us to grow up watching Cinderella and reading about Mr Darcy wasn’t the best plan…. I’m just saying!

For me, marriage is still about forever. It is about happy ever after. Well maybe not ‘happy ever after’ but ‘happy to a reasonable degree ever after’. When I think of marriage, I think of Mr & Mrs Bennett, and Mr Bennett’s remark: ” You mistake me my dear, I have the utmost respect for your nerves. They’ve been my constant companion these twenty years”. That’s what I think marriage should be like.

What can I say like a good love story.

Which is perhaps the main reason I love Pride & Prejudice.

 

 

Thanks for reading! What did you think?

