Gloment – 10 Powerful Questions

Advocates of love and inspiration, Gloment helps shape a personalised positive outlook on your life in the form of posters.

They recently posted a blog about 10 Powerful Questions to learn from last year and prepare for next year.

https://gloment.com/blogs/news/10-powerful-questions-for-next-year

I thought I would give them a try…

  1. What have been your most exciting wins in 2016?

I lost 6kg through 10,000 steps a day and being conscious of my diet.

My love of walking encouraged me to raise funds for RSPCA with my little friends Ollie and Jasper. My love of walking also helped raise funds for Cerebral Palsy through Steptember, and get to know some of my co-workers. I felt part of a community, which always gives me that warm and fuzzy feeling.

I found a job I am content with and made some great new friends along the way. This sense of belonging and comfort encouraged me to engage in social activities at work such as Steptember and the Christmas party.

I travelled to New Zealand by myself. It forced me to break from shell and put me in the thick of a purely magical place.

2. What have been your most disappointing moments of 2016?

A win in the work place, made me realise that whatever I do, will not be good enough for some people in my life. I had to realise I will never meet their expectations, not because I can’t because I don’t have to. But by following this path, leaves me open to their ignorant back handed passive aggressive comments. That sentence makes me realise I have much more healing to do on that front.

Speaking of ignorant, the win of Trump in the US Election made me reassess the world we live in, and my place in it. Ever since I was a little girl I dreamt of travelling to the US. Mostly because I grew up with US TV shows like Friends and Dawsons Creek. But the more I learn, the less inclined I am to go.

The world is changing, and not for the better.

3. What lessons did you learn from them?

I’ve learned that you can’t please everyone and the most important happiness is your own.

I’m learning my place in a terrible world, and trying to figure out how to survive.

I’m learning that reality itself is an illusion, created in our minds.

4. What are you most grateful for in 2016?

I am grateful that my mother is still here. We’ve had some scary worrying moments, but she’s battling on, one day at a time.

I am grateful for the affection of my parent’s puppies; Ollie and Jasper. Their eternal enthusiasm and affection, remind us that somewhere out there, the world is still seen as a magical place.

I am grateful for planet Earth and all its magestic beauty. I had a wonderful moment on the deck of a boat, as we cruised through the Milford Sound in southern New Zealand.

5. If you gave 2016 a headline, what would it be? What was a theme in 2016?

“EARTH GAMES: MAY THE ODDS BE EVER IN YOUR FAVOUR”

Headline amended from The Hunger Games. I’m starting to wonder if this series was a premonition of where humanity is headed.

I’ve always felt the greatest threat to humanity, is humanity itself. This year, we have seen the crisis in Syria grow to even more catastrophic levels, the war on terror casts a shadow over most populations, poverty and disease still curses our developing countries… and the list goes on and on.

This year we saw Brexit and Trump win the US election. Potentially catastrophic political moves that will most definitely change the world. But the most concerning aspect of these was the discriminatory motivations that caused them.

Thousands of humans across the world are displaced, and fellow humans are shutting the door in their faces. From what I saw in the media this year, the very thing that makes us human, compassion for one another, has gone. This year is the death of humanity.

… I’ve said it mostly in jest. But part of me believes this is why we have lost some truly legendary characters and people this year. They have all ascended to a better place.

6. What would you like your theme / motto to be in 2017?

Hope. 2017 will be my fight song.

7. What is something you would really like to happen in 2017?

I really want to travel to Japan.

I want to get to my target weight / dress size.

I wouldn’t mind meeting a special someone to share my dreams and keep me fighting.

8. Why do you want this? What is the reason behind your desire?

My life is walking back to happiness, and I find happiness when I’m standing on the banks of an unknown stream or crouching breathless atop of a hill or mountain. Their is so much beauty in the world, and in humanity. I want to find it, and see it. After all seeing is believing.

I really want to believe again.

9. What would you need to differently in order to make it happen?

Carpe Dium – Seize the Day!

Look up from my phone and appreciate my surroundings.

Take every opportunity to immerse myself into the world, whether it’s walking or attending community events or studying Japanese (there’s a course I’ve got my eyes on).

10. What is one action you can make right now to get started?

Write a budget to save for adventures.

Put on my walking shoes and go outside.

 

 

Thanks for reading! What did you think?

